Our History

Wyong Wallabies Rugby Club was formed in late 1974 by Colin Russell ( our clubs first life member) and played in the inaugural Central Coast Rugby Union competition in 1975 making us one of the founding clubs in the CCRU. Initially games were played at Tuggerah and later at Morrie Breen oval 2.

In 1982 the club changed its name to Northlakes and moved to it’s current home at Slade Park, Budgewoi.

Northlakes tasted it’s first premiership success when the 3rd grade side won multiple premierships in 1992, 1993, 1994 & 1996. The first three were coached by Ali Morgan & in 1996 Henry Baker & Toni Abbott.

In 1998 Northlakes, coached by Carl Von Kotze & captained by Sam Tapuvae claimed it’s first 1st grade premiership defeating Gosford in the Grand Final.

In 1999 Northlakes formed a women’s rugby team & became a founding member of the CCRU women’s competition. They claimed the women’s premiership in 2000, coached by Morris Selwyn, & played until the competition ceased in 2002. They did play in the Newcastle women’s competition in 2003 as well. The CCRU women’s competition restarted in 2018 & we rejoined in 2019 & continue to play in this competition.

In 2016 Northlakes became The Lakes Rugby Club to reflect our local area on the coast.

We have steadily rebuilt over the last 4/5 seasons . In 2020 our 1st & 2nd grades were narrowly defeated in the CCRU grand finals and The Lakes Colts team claimed the clubs first ever CCRU Colts premiership, coached by Kyle Lanzini.

The Lakes were also awarded the CCRU Club Champions trophy for the first time in our history.

Sevens rugby is also now a big part of The Lakes rugby program. We compete at numerous tournaments and in 2018 The Lakes won Hamilton Country Cup, Kiama Country Cup And Sevens by The Sea hosted annually by The Lakes Club at Slade Park. In 2019 after being moved up to the bowl competition at Kiama we again finished the day as winners. In 2020 we were narrowly defeated in the bowl final at Kiama. In 2020 we became the only 2 time winner of The Sevens by The Sea tournament so far.